Hanten Jacket 

wp-image-51817838

Do your projects sometimes take on a life of their own? This one did for me. It was intended to be a prototype but ended up as a project. Here’s the story:

I wanted to be true to the origins of the hanten jacket, a padded garment traditionally worn by workers.

Being true meant adding batting, which added complexity and a need for quilting.

Adding batting meant adding a lining, which for me was unbleached calico from my stash.

Following tradition meant having a contrasting neck band, which I read about online.

Being thrifty meant finding a wooden barrel button at the ops shop (charity shop.)

Using a button closure meant braiding a round kumihimo eight strand braid for the button loop and button band.

Using a round kumihimo eight strand braid closure meant learning how to transition that round braid to an eight strand flat braid so I could comfortably fit it under the sewing machine presser foot to attach it to the front band.

And dos it goes….

Pattern Source: Clothing from the Hands that Weave by Anita Luvera Mayer from Kay Faulkners extensive library.

In progress. I later swapped the fabric hanging loop for a braided one. Prototype closure elements.

wp-image-1038680284

Quilting template and kumihimo disk. 3/2 cotton for the braids.

6 thoughts on “Hanten Jacket 

    • Thanks. It’s surprisingly warm. Haven’t quite decided yet if it’s a bed jacket or a fashion garment. It doesn’t close at the centre front which takes a bit of getting used to.

  1. Oh yes. I have gone through so many projects that start out with “I think I’ll make a Thing”, and end up being an epic adventure involving making So Many Things just to get to the Final Thing. :)

Leave a comment