Weaving with Novelty Yarns

 

Scarf_Tirchonaill_Finished

What defines a novelty yarn? I’m going with:

new to me and having an interesting composition

Here is a photo of a scarf I recently completed using Bendigo 3 ply as warp at 8 dpi and Tirchonaill as weft. The Tirchonaill is pure wool and came in a 100g ball. To me, it meets the definition of being a novelty yarn, and a lovely one. Exactly half the ball of Tirchonaill got consumed for this project, meaning I will be able to make another scarf. I’m happy about that as I love the green colour.

I picked the Tirchonaill up at a guild member’s stash sale. I didn’t sample but I did have a plan in mind. I wove an open structure in plain weave, intending to have a soft drapey fabric at the end of the process. That worked. The selvages looked a bit loopy on the loom but came good after the finishing step.

The borders are Bendigo 3 ply, doubled. These were a bit of a concern at the hemming stage as this part of the weave didn’t pull together as much as the green during the wet-finishing stage. A bit of steam-pressing evened out the width sufficiently that I could hem the fabric without sacrificing the splash of colour contrast.

 

 

2 responses to “Weaving with Novelty Yarns

  1. Very nice scarf! The lavender accents the green nicely and the different shades give the surface a subtle almost textured look. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thank you. The weft yarn has subtle differences in the green tones and the occasional burst of contrast which reminds me of tweed. I used 51 grams of weft yarn for the scarf I just completed and I plan to make another, narrower scarf with the remaining 49 grams of weft yarn.

Leave a Reply

