New Dorset Folding Loom

One of my guild friends is moving house and decluttering. Somehow we got to talking about that and she asked if I might be interested in buying her folding loom.

I didn’t have to think long about that one as I have coveted her loom (in the nicest possible way) when she has brought it to guild workshops. She seemed so comfortable and self sufficient sitting at her fold up loom while the rest of us cramped each other’s style and gave ourselves shoulder fatigue with our table looms all in a row.

Now that beautiful loom is mine.

Dorset Loom

I thought it might be a Dorset, make in New England, USA and an application of Scandinavian oil to the wood over the Easter holiday confirmed that. The Dorset name was stamped into the wood under the raddle. I think the raddle storage position on top of the castle is an innovation from my friend’s engineer husband, who like my beloved, is an enabler of her loom and yarn collecting as well as a provider of technical support.

The shafts move smoothly and the folding loom is easier to transport than my Ashford table loom. I’m also really pleased to have something that was owned by my friend, as she’s a terrific person and a good weaving mentor. We haven’t been able to spend much time together yet, but I’ve offered her loom visitation rights whenever she wants.

Mt first project will be two tea towels from the Ann Field book.

The Ashford table loom is on notice – behave or get sent to to an online auction.

4 responses to “New Dorset Folding Loom

  1. That’s a beauty! How great that you got this–both for practical concerns and because it will make you think of your friend every time you enjoy using it!

    • Thank you. I agree, it feels right to have that loom. Now all I need is another four day holiday to get it warped and start weaving. The scary part is that the next four day holiday is….Christmas!

  2. She made a good selection of a new home for her loom it sounds like to me. The challenge of down-sizing is finding the “right” person who will love your abundance!

Leave a Reply

