The Origins of my Druva Floor Loom

I couldn’t be happier with my Druva floor loom. One day I might want a countermarche loom, or more shafts or a beater that’s hinged from above, not below, but for where I am in my fibre journey now, it’s perfect. The heddle eyes are big, the footprint of the loom is small, and it’s all put together in a straightforward way. I like the directness of one pedal, one shaft as that helps me learn directly how different treadlings result in different weave structures.

I bought the loom from a weaver who was planning to downsize but then didn’t. She later replaced the Druva with an eight shaft loom that required a road trip to bring home. I’m sure that will be a familiar story to some of you.

The latest (No. 657, March 2016) edition of Treadles, the newsletter of the Handweavers and Spinners Guild of Victoria taught me a bit about the origins of the Druva loom. Druva was the family name of Harry and Rasma Druva, who hailed from Latvia but emigrated to Melbourne in 1947 after meeting and marrying in a displaced person’s camp.

A medical student before the war, Rasma became a weaver and Harry made looms.

Rasma died in August 2015. Her obituary was published in the Sydney Morning Herald.

2 responses to “The Origins of my Druva Floor Loom

  1. You’ve decided me, I’m keeping my Druva loom that my mother bought from Harry and had advice for from Rasma. It was in the 80s I would say. Opportunity and space to get it going Must Come Soon!

Leave a Reply

