Fancy Fox

One of my friends gave birth to a baby girl four months ago, providing me with the perfect excuse to make some fox blocks. I first saw the fancy fox block on a quilt made by Wombat Quilts and fell in love with it then.

 Fancy Fox  Quilt Top made up of Four Fox Blocks  in Pink and Grey  

If you want to buy the pattern, it’s available from Oh Fransson. It’s easy enough to make the blocks. Each large fox block measures 20 by 24 inches, which is a whole different scale to what I’ve worked with before. I like the amount of negative space though and the blocks come together quickly once you’ve done your cutting. They’re also a good way to use up your stash though the amount of waste involved in sewing the muzzle/background triangle does trouble me a little. 

This top will be going off to the long arm quilter due to a shortage of free time and because my Singer quilting machine has developed a timing problem, one that’s too expensive to have fixed by a professional. Tinkerer and I are planning a DIY repair session over the summer. If we can’t fix the Singer ourselves it might be useful as a boat anchor. Meanwhile I can continue piecing with my trusty Husqvarna. 

Leave a Reply

