Heatwave Project: Christmas Stocking

It’s hard to believe but we had a heatwave in Melbourne in the last weekend before Christmas. Temperatures got up to 41 C.

As a city dweller with aircon, I was very fortunate. I was able to stay home and work on a craft project.

Here’s what I made. After taking a look at some photos on the internet, I made a pattern for a Christmas stocking and then I made a Christmas stocking.  It will be a gift for a workmate whose first two children have stockings but whose latest arrival didn’t. Until now.

It’s fully lined and has fusing to keep it stable. I even practiced some couture techniques, sewing the inner lining with a slightly larger seam allowance than the outer, and clipping curves through a single layer of fabric so that the cuts were distributed. It wasn’t necessary to go to those lengths, but it was fun to see what I could do.

Happy Holidays.

 

Leave a Reply

