Weaving Summer School: Advanced Rug Weaving

Soumak, packed fleece, the Sehna knot and twill in opposites (also called shadow weave, I believe – leave a comment if I’m wrong) were the techniques presented in Advanced Rug Weaving workshop at the 2015 Handweavers and Spinners Guild of Victoria Summer School. We also learned a clever and speedy technique for making clasped weave. This two day workshop was led by the remarkable Gerlinde Binning, an experienced weaver with masses of in-depth knowledge of the craft and her highly skilled friend and assistant Pat Jones. Both women did an excellent job of explaining  and demonstrating the techniques and were available for questions and problem solving at all times.

Class sampler - soumak and plain weave.

Class sampler – day 1: Soumak. Sehna knot and clasped weave still to come.

Gerlinde told us that her objective for this year’s workshop was to have fun, and we did have fun. The pace of learning was just right with a couple of hours to learn and practise each technique but with the option of continuing working on any earlier technique that we particularly liked. Most of us had attended the rug weaving summer school last year so there were a few familiar faces.

I’m ashamed to say that I still had the warp on my table loom from last year’s class and I decided to press on with that, even though I didn’t have a long warp left. I’m a slow, deliberate learner so was pretty confident it wouldn’t run out. And it didn’t.

We covered a couple of finishing techniques and I’m hoping to practise those now that I’m back home from the workshop.

It’s a shame summer only comes around once a year.

6 responses to “Weaving Summer School: Advanced Rug Weaving

  1. You went on a workshop of Gerlinde’s!!!! You lucky thing, I love that lady.

  2. What was the clever and speedy technique for making clasped weave?

    • Hmmm…that one is hard to explain in words. The technique is based on a double thickness of each weft colour in each shed. You operate one shuttle and have the ‘other’ weft colour on a cone or whatever, draped from the back of the loom and over the castle. With each throw of the shuttle you ‘catch’ the second colour and pull it through. The catching process is where you make the clasp. I suspect this needs a video or a sketch to explain fully. Based on a quick web search it may be described in Peter Collingwood’s Rug Weaving Beyond the Basics. which I don’t have. I’m still making my way through his first book.

  3. oh that’s fine, I do clasped weft a fair bit, I love it, but I thought you may have been referring to a trick I didn’t know about.

Leave a Reply

