Weaving Supplies from Sweden

Collection of four wooden boat shuttles, one upside down to show that it has rollers

Boat shuttles – old and new(ish)

On our travels we stopped at every charity shop, flea market or car boot sale we came across. This obsession goes as far as planning our trip to be in a town for their Sunday flea market. It’s a lot of fun, inexpensive and you get to chat to all kinds of people.

The main objective for me was to find weaving yarn, shuttles and books and I had some success, though only in rural and regional areas, not in Stockholm. While I did pick up some yarn, the best results were for books.

A collection of used weaving books in Swedish

The books are (left to right, top to bottom)

Stora Vävboken by Laila Lundell, 1976
Väv på Fyra Skaft by Ann+Mari Nilsson purchased new, 2012
Vävning by Märta Broden and Signild Wiklun 1970, first published 1944
Väva i bandgränd by Torbjörg Bitusöl, 1966
Vi väver till Hemmet by Maja Lundbäck, 1956. This one is about weaving furnishing fabrics
I vävstolen I by Anna Skeri Mattson and Ingrid Osvald Jacobsen 1959, first published 1937
I vävstolen II by Anna Skeri Mattson and Ingrid Osvald Jacobsen 1948, first published 1940
Levande Textil, published by the Swedish Tourist Assn in 1987. This one takes a broad view of Swedish textiles from raising sheep to the production of military uniforms.

My Swedish is far from perfect, but the books are worth having for the drafts and illustrations alone. Over the next few days I plan to compile a glossary of weaving terms in Swedish and English. There’s lots to do and I’m keen to get back to some patchwork, too.

4 responses to “Weaving Supplies from Sweden

  1. Thumbs up for the last 7 words! And have lot of fun with your books!

    • A work colleague is expecting a baby in early January. I’ve been thinking it might be time to try a trip around the world baby quilt or wall hanging. It’s a classic design that has been on my list for a while.

  2. I can’t wait to see the results of all this weaving kit.

    • You and me both. I had another quick look at the Laila Lundell book this morning and it has a couple of good pages on backstrap rigid heddle braid weaving. That’s further evidence that the later editions of that particular book have less rather than more information. I guess not many people weave braid any more.

Leave a Reply

