Red & White MYO Charm Quilt Finished

Started late in 2012 and painstakingly pieced and finally finished. MYO Charms Quilt 2 Finished

The dimensions are roughly 110cm by 120cm. I wanted to quilt it myself about a quarter inch from each seam line but I realised that would require more time than I had available. My professional quilter expressed a preference for an edge to edge design because it was easier for her to execute. I regret agreeing to that as I feel my design vision wasn’t delivered. I like this quilt, but I don’t love it as much as I was hoping/planning to.

MYO Charms Quilt Finished 1

The batting is Quilters Dream Poly (throw sized) in mid loft which was quite inexpensive and can be quilted as far as 12 inches apart. It will withstand lots of washing and doesn’t require pre-washing but I find it little stiff. So far I have not found a polyester batting that drapes in the way I want it to, ie like cotton batting. I have a packet of low loft Quilters Dream Poly ready for a jelly roll quilt that is yet to be started and I’ll be interested to see how that compares.

MYO Charms Quilt Finished 3

Note the quilt stand in this last photo. It’s my brand new (to me) Druva four shaft floor loom and it came home yesterday.

9 responses to “Red & White MYO Charm Quilt Finished

  1. Very nice.

  2. It’s a pretty quilt, but I understand what you mean about having a look in mind and it now quite matching up. It looks like a nice cuddly quilt though.

    • Thanks for your comment.You’re right, it’s cuddly and there really isn’t much wrong with it – I think this one will be a gift. The receiver will never know it was supposed to look a little different.

  3. Oh, can I be the lucky one? If it isn’t cherished, send it to me. lol!

  4. Such beautiful reds! Have you considered Hobb’s Heirloom? It’s not 100% poly but an 80/20 blend.

    • Thanks so much for commenting. Most of my quilts so far have used Hobb’s Heirloom and I like that much better. In the case of this particular quilt I was looking to experiment with an alternative that was lower cost and had a wider quilting width – which was back when I was still planning to do the quilting myself. Made sense at the time. They also say that poly batting is better for kids quilts and those that might be washed frequently so I thought it was worth a try.

  5. Aha! Everything becomes clear – and it’s still a very lovely quilt.

Leave a Reply

