The Charm Top is Done

Spotlight have had 30% off all fabrics over the few days between Christmas and New Year. Of course I had to go check it out and of course I found some fabric I had to have, though dressmaking fabric, rather than quilting fabric. I’m quite looking forward to getting stuck into some garment sewing but needed to get the charm top out of the way to clear the workspace.

Quilt Top using six different read and white fabric squares

Finished but for a little more Pressing

Today I managed to both name our new canoe in a moving ceremony at Lilydale Lake (well, in a ceremony anyway)  and finish my MYO charm top. Along the way I learned a new trick that reduces the likelihood of messing up a planned row between the table and the sewing machine, something that has been an ongoing challenge for me.

Basically, you put one safety pin in the block to the far left, two in the block to the far right, and then you work inwards until it’s time to join the two components of the row. You can string piece right up to the last join and it’s been working well for me. I can’t imagine that others haven’t also used this approach but this time I came up with it myself rather than reading it on someone else’s blog.

I made a video to show you the technique but it seems WordPress want me to pay for an upgrade before I can show it to you directly, so that will have to wait for now.

I found the backing fabric for the charm top at Spotlight, too and have decided to take this one to the professional quilter after all, to get it off my ‘to do’ list and onto hers.

7 responses to “The Charm Top is Done

  1. The finished product is well done. Be BLESSED, Mtetar

    • Thank you.As a sneak preview for you, I picked a blue and white printed fabric for the backing, that I hope will look fantastic when it’s bound with red binding. I’ll post a picture when it’s done though I suspect that might take a while. The professional quilter likes to take a break in the warmest summer months, which is more or less right now.

      • I Wii be looking forward to that post. I’m sure it is going to look more beautiful. Thank you for an update. We are freezing here on the East Coast. Be BLESSED, Mtetar

  2. Your quilt top is lovely, you have distributed the dark red in a way that draws the eye all around the quilt top. I look forward to seeing it when it comes back from the quilter.

  3. I love this quilt top and think it will look fantastic with a blue/white backing!

    Vicki

    • I took it to the quilter last weekend and picked a flower design for the quilting, which I think will be pretty. I’ll post a photo when its finished but I suspect that might take a few months as she had a big backlog. Hope you’ll stop by again then.

Leave a Reply

