MYO Charms

I’ve been inspired lately by a couple of our fellow bloggers who have made lovely quilts out of charm squares. I’d link to their posts but, sadly, I can’t remember where they were.

Sewing squares together is not usually my thing, but I liked the look of what I saw and I’m trying to get more into doing my own (simple, straight line) quilting so I thought I’d make my own lap sized quilt out of squares.

Home made charm squares in baggies

Why buy when you can make?

Being a rugged individualist (or perhaps just to save money) I decided to make my own charm squares. I cut them at four inches square to accommodate the maximum quilting width recommended for the Hobbs Heirloom batting I plan to use. To explain that, my plan is to quilt it using the seams as a guide, quilting about 1cm away from each seam. (Staying in the ditch is too difficult, I’ve found.) I also liked the idea of working with a slightly smaller square than the standard five inch commercial offering, for aesthetic reasons.

Crazy Mom Quilts says that a nice lap size quilt is 60″ x 72″. For those of you who think metric, that’s roughly 150cm by 180cm. My quilt will be smaller because I ran out of fabric but I’m including the link because I found it to be a useful reference.

Three of the fabric designs are somehow related to the wonderful Victoria & Albert Museum and bear their copyright and I’m curious about the link to what might just be my favourite museum in the whole, wide world. One fabric was already in my stash and I used a Prisma plain homespun to break up the patterns with a solid. I’ll use the Prisma for the binding, too.

The rows still need to be sewn together.

This is how it’s looking so far. Again, I am drawing inspiration from one of my fellow quilting bloggers who asked “Why work on one project, when you can work on several.” Just don’t ask me how the binding is coming along on the bento box quilt.

6 responses to “MYO Charms

  1. I am a charm square/charm pack addict. Probably just because I am too lazy to cut squares, and because they make for a quick quilt.

    Thanks for stopping by and visiting my blog. :)

  2. Congratulations! you have been nominated for the Liebster Award. Please check out my blog if you wish to accept :)

  3. I will follow your blog to see how this turns out. I have been saving our old blue and white shirts with a view to cutting into charm squares to make a quilt.

    • Saving your shirts is a great idea. I’ve seen a few fantastic shirt quilts on other people’s blogs. Not only do they look good but sometimes quilts made from old clothes bring back all sorts of memories. Thanks for following and for stopping by.

  4. It’s going to be a lovely quilt. Those fabrics are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

