Georgetown Circles Class Australian Quilters’ Association Symposium 2012

I attended the Australian Quilters’ Association 2012 Symposium yesterday where I joined the Georgetown Circles class.

I’d love to show you a picture of our tutor’s demonstration quilt but when I took my camera out the tutor told me that my picture was to be for personal use only. That’s her call to make. I can only conclude she doesn’t want to sell too many of her patterns online.

This year I was better equipped for a class as my new Singer is a lot more portable than my old Husqvarna. I can carry the Singer with one arm.  To make transport even easier I picked up a padded sewing machine carry bag with handles and a long zipper for only $20 plus tax at Wm. C. Jackson & Company on Victoria Parade just outside Melbourne’s central business district. They mostly cater to the rag trade but were willing to take my money anyway. While you can’t browse the stock, this place compares really well to retail sewing supply outlets for their wide selection of merchandise and for low prices. Now that I’ve found them, they would be my first stop for sewing machine supplies and parts, especially if I happened to have an industrial machine. They also stock tools like rotary cutters and scissors.

Sewing through the pattern pieces to perforate the freezer paper

Perforating the Freezer Paper

We leaned foundation piecing using freezer paper in the Georgetown Circles class. First step was to transfer the markings by stapling the layers of freezer paper under the pattern template and sewing through the whole lot to perforate the freezer paper on the sewing and cutting lines. Great technique, though I did hear some grumbles from the ladies who had put fresh needles in their machines in preparation for the class.

We make Templastic templates as references for fabric cutting. The technique was easy to learn, though the instructor could have made her job a bit more fun by calling the group together from time to time to demonstrate the next step. Instead she worked the room, walking people through the method as each person was ready for that step. While it was nice to have the tutor’s undivided attention for that moment, I had the impression it tired her out a bit.

I chose a bold, masculine palette for my block, with the goal of gifting it as a wall hanging for a male family friend who turns 70 next year. My neighbour in the class had also had the idea to make a medallion style quilt. As neither of us had brought enough freezer paper we paired up and shared templates.

Still need to fill in the Middle and add more Circles

Here’s where I got to. I am pleased with the result. Seems the tutor didn’t particularly care for my colour choices. At the end of the class she came by, gave my finished work a long look, and walked on by. A ‘good effort’ or a ‘hope you enjoyed the class’ would have been a friendly way to end the day. Call me paranoid, but I wasn’t feeling the love in that moment.

2 responses to “Georgetown Circles Class Australian Quilters’ Association Symposium 2012

  1. I haven’t used freezer paper myself, but my mother has (although in hand sewing ratgher than machine) and it was a technique she loved. You did a great job, and I think the colours work well together :-)

    • Thanks for the kind words. Glad to hear you like the colours. I’m hoping I can get at least one more circle on this weekend, schedule permitting. I have a couple of brown tones in mind to use.

      This was a the first time I’d used freezer paper and I can certainly see the appeal, though philosophically I’m more inclined to use low tech quilting methods.

Leave a Reply

