Australian Quilters’ Association Symposium 2012

The Australian Quilters’ Association have published the details of their annual symposium in Melbourne. I still haven’t joined the association, even though they seem like a fine group of people, because I don’t have the time to be an active member. When I stop working full time that might be an option, but for now I’m happy to squeeze my sewing in whenever I can, be it before work or at weekends.

After my experience at their symposium two years ago I jumped at the opportunity to attend again this year. The classes they’re offering are completely different from two years ago. This time I’ve enrolled in Michelle Yeo’s Georgetown Circles class. The Georgetown Circle block has some similarities to the Mariner’s Compass and I expect that we will learn some paper piecing techniques. The supplies list also called for freezer paper, which I have never used, but which I have read about in applique books.

I’m counting down until September and have selected some fabrics. My sister-in-law gave me some cuts of quilting fabric as a birthday gift a couple of years ago. They’re bold, somewhat masculine colours and I’ve been waiting for the right project to come along for them. I believe the class will be that project. Hopefully the block will be good enough to make into a wall hanging or a cushion cover, but we’ll see.

I found a wonderful Georgetown Circles quilt on Flickr which can serve as my inspiration.

Symposium – that sounds so grand. I can hardly wait.

Leave a Reply

