Pattern Making at the Council of Adult Education

The Council of Adult Education in Melbourne’s CBD offers an introductory course in pattern making, covering a range of professional pattern making techniques. I’ve signed up and I can’t wait to start.

I chose the CAE because they offer pattern making as a two day intensive, running on consecutive Saturdays. The CAE course guide promised that we would get to make a basic skirt, slacks and bodice blocks to our own measurements, make patterns for various skirt silhouettes, learn various style tops (they weren’t very specific on this) and how to alter a block to suit various figure types.

In order to prepare, I went to the library and borrowed Metric Pattern Cutting for Menswear by Winifred Aldrich. I’m not particularly interested in sewing menswear but I figured the basic principles would be the same. Besides, it was the only related book that wasn’t out on loan at the time. Pattern making books are hard to find at the library and expensive to buy at the bookshop, it seems.

I visited RMIT University’s bookshop to check out the pattern making and tailoring books there and subsequently placed an order on Amazon for How to Use, Adapt and Design Sewing Patterns by Lee Hollahan. I feel guilty whenever I preview a book at a physical bookstore and then buy it on line, but the price differential is so great that I simply couldn’t own the books I want any other way. To put that comment in context, we’re talking about as much as double the price from a bricks and mortar store. Book distribution in this county is very messed up.

I’m counting the days to my book order arriving and will post an update after the class starts. I’ve just got back from vacation so am glad to have something new to anticipate.

2 responses to “Pattern Making at the Council of Adult Education

  1. I recently saw a woodworking book for $81NZD. It is available online for $67NZD or $38USD. I just doesn’t make sense..

Leave a Reply

