Just for a Change – Half Apron

Renovation work, gardening and cooking have stood between me and my sewing machine for the last few weeks but I have now got a new project underway though it’s not strictly a quilting project. More on that later.

I have a family friend coming to stay in a couple of months and she is going to need a birthday present as she will be arriving just after her birthday. This lady is blessed with many things so I have decided that a hand-made gift will be a good choice. She will appreciate the thought and effort more than with a store-bought gift, I hope.

Cutting out the Apron

All Cut Out

Please don’t judge me for this but I am using Kwik Sew pattern 2311. If you are thinking there really is no excuse for buying a pattern for a half apron, I agree. It’s sad and pathetic and if a seamstress needs a pattern for a half apron she must be a beginner … or lazy… Hmmm.

My very first school sewing project at age 11 was a half apron. Yes, I’m old enough to have gone to school at a time when girls did sewing and cooking and boys did woodwork and metalwork. We did get to swap for a few weeks and I remember how much I loved woodwork and metalwork. The girls were super jealous of the boys, because the boys learned cooking with a much admired male teacher who taught them to make honeycomb. We girls were taught essential home-maker skills like scrubbing down the work surfaces. Oh, and culinary delights like passionfruit butter, something I wouldn’t eat then, and haven’t eaten since. A year later I transitioned to an all girls public high school and got on with other womanly things like maths, chemistry and physics. For the record, I’m not ancient, I just grew up under a very traditional school system.

Back on topic, the reason I bought the pattern was for the crossover back apron that is shown as view A on the pattern. I plan to make that one for myself, even though it has miles of edging finished with bias binding. If anyone knows of an idiot-proof way to attach bias binding without it going adrift, please let me know.

This is my first time using a Kwik Sew Pattern.The seam allowances on the pattern are 1cm in most places and 6mm in others. I’m not accustomed to seam allowances being different within the one pattern and being used to 1.5cm seam allowances any variation feels weird. I’m also not real happy with the paper stock that the pattern is printed on. It’s almost the weight of cheap wrapping paper, rather than the pattern tissue I’m used to. I wouldn’t use my good fabric scissors to cut out this pattern for fear of blunting the cutting edge, and it was difficult to cut through the fabric and paper together. Yes, I could have cut around all the paper pattern pieces with my crappy paper scissors and then pinned and cut the fabric using my dressmaking scissors. To which I refer you to my earlier point – lazy. One step is more efficient than two.

Apron pocket pinned for appliqued daisy

Applique Plan for the Pocket

Not the best start. I’m planning to do a raw edge applique fussy cut daisy on the apron pocket, which is how I justify including this post in a quilting blog.

My inspiration comes, in part, from this wonderful apron dress at Unsung Sewing Patterns.

Though I hate the idea of dressing up to do the vacuuming, you can’t argue that it’s more elegant than doing housework in your pyjamas.

4 responses to “Just for a Change – Half Apron

  1. How cute! I loved the apron dress, too.

    I like to wear an apron when doing boring household chores – makes it feel all official and efficient. (Doryman would say Officious) And the neighbors all stare, which is an added bonus ;-)

    I made my Mom sign a special form and have a talk with my school guide so that I could skip out on Home Ec and take wood shop, and it was the best thing I ever drug my feet on!

  2. I’ve never quite figured out what aprons are for, or passion fruit butter, or Sunday school, or vacuuming. Great blog post though, a really good read.

    • Aprons are good for preventing burns when you’re ironing in your undies.

      Vacuuming stops the grass clippings from staining the carpet.

      Sunday school teaches children to avoid places of worship for the rest of their lives. And gives them something to discuss with their therapists when they grow up.

      Passionfruit butter can not be justified.

Leave a Reply

