New England Block

I’m still pondering layouts for my Gypsy Bandana fat quarters and the latest test block idea has come from Lillian’s cupboard. Lillian is making and blogging about Barbara Brackman’s Civil War block of the week series. I enjoyed reading in Barbara Brackman’s blog about the cockades that people wore to show their allegiance to the Union or Confederate cause. I head read about cockades in the French Revolution but their use in the American Civil War was news to me.

The New England Block

The New England block finishes at 8 inches, which I prefer over a 12 inch block for a little girl quilt. I think it’s appropriate to have the scale of the block not be too overwhelmingly large when the quilt is intended for a small person. Having said that, this is a really fiddly block to make and I’m not sure I really want to do it 64 times over (eight by eight, that is) so I’m still thinking about what to do with those Gypsy Bandana Pink Fat Quarters.

It’s a gorgeous block and one day I will want to make a whole lot of them. I’m thinking a scrappy might be fun.

Leave a Reply

