Braids Done

Friendship Braids Lined up on theCutting Board

Lined Up and Ready to Sew

The braids have been coming along nicely and I’ve been enjoying sewing them by the window, keeping an eye on the garden. It’s that time of year when you can just about watch the garden grow. We’ve had warm sunny days interspersed with rain, which is about as good as it gets. Of course weeding and planting does compete with sewing time, but when we eat a meal of home-grown asparagus, it’s all worth it.

Sewing the braids together was easy enough once I’d worked out the order – you have to alternate the trapezoid/reverse trapezoids and that had me confused for a while, just as it did when I started the braids. I cut the ‘tails’ off after I had the seams sewn. It just seemed to make sense to do it then.

Next step is to add the borders. I’ve cut the fabric so I’m hoping the top will be done within the next day or two.

2 responses to “Braids Done

  1. I do have that book…with this pattern! I’ll have to give it a try, that is once I’ve fully completed the five quilt tops that I already have. :)

  2. I know that problem! I put the borders on today and I have to say the top came up really well. It’s not a big quilt, more suited for snuggling up watching TV than as a bed quilt. Not sure who the lucky recipient will be yet :-)

Leave a Reply

