Simple Construction – Oh Really?

Cover of Feb 2011 American Patchwork & Quilting

Feb 2011 American Patchwork & Quilting

I picked up the Feb 2011 issue of American Patchwork and Quilting on my travels because I was drawn to the quilt on the cover, designed by Sandy Klop of American Jane Patterns.

It’s designed to be cut from 21/2 inch strips, complemented by muslin spacers – 240 of them, as 21/2 inch squares. I’m still thinking about making it, but I’m wondering if it really a beginners level design, as stated. I’m wondering how to efficiently get all 29 rows together correctly without having being up and down from my design floor after every seam. Plus, I don’t really want a work in progress on the floor for weeks or months.

Strip Layout for Row by Row Quilt

Strip Layout for Row by Row Quilt


Any suggestions? I could mark each piece of fabric as a1, a2, a3 etc using masking tape but surely there’s a better way.

Please share your handy hints by leaving a comment.

Update: The ever-reliable experts on the Quilting Board had two brilliant suggestions.

1. Cut the fabric and place it in labelled baggies baggies in order of sewing. Label the baggies and the rows.
2. Take a photo of the layout before you start, to use as a reference later.

Leave a Reply

