San Diego Trip Report – Rosie’s Calico Cupboard

When work takes me away from home I like to take the opportunity to do a little shopping. My recent trip to San Diego allowed me to check out Rosie’s Calico Cupboard, which came highly recommended by the good folk on the Quilting Board, who specified this store as a San Diego area ‘must-visit.’

Walking outside Rosies calico cupboard, map in hand

The Intrepid Explorer

I used Google maps and the delightful San Diego trolley (Santee line) to find my way to this shop, located on a busy multi-lane road. It was a warm walk up the hill from the station to get there and it was worth it, even though it didn’t live up to my (admittedly high) expectations. The staff were knowledgeable, but a little stand-offish, and the prices were higher than I had expected, based my online US purchases from Hancock’s of Paducah. I had planned to buy a jelly roll as a souvenir, but didn’t get one in the end as $44 plus tax seemed a little on the high side. Also they were out of stock of quite a number of the notions I wanted, in particular the EZ Dresden template, which I’m still very keen to get my hands on. I might just have to make my own template using these instructions instead.

Bolts of green fabric

Shades of Green

It wasn’t all bad though – the selection of quilting fabrics was absolutely amazing, with row after row of quilting cottons in subtle variations. If you needed a particular shade of a particular colour, you would most certainly find it at Rosie’s. They also had a couple of garden chairs and some magazines out the front for waiting husbands, which was a nice touch.

I grabbed a few remnants as a souvenir of my visit, a little yardage from their sale room, a couple of thimbles and some Insul-Bright for future pot holders. Oh, and a hand quilting template, which will be fun to test.

I’m glad I went, but I came away just a little disappointed.

2 responses to “San Diego Trip Report – Rosie’s Calico Cupboard

  1. Good selection of fishing magazines for husbands to read.

  2. We’ll go back as soon as they add some wooden boat magazines.

Leave a Reply

