Gypsy Bandana Pink Fat Quarters

I have found that the only cost effective way to buy good quality cotton batting is to order it online from the United States. Hancock’s of Paducah recently had a free shipping offer (free international shipping if you buy more than $100 worth of merchandise, a minimum that has, on some occasions, been raised to $125.) They have a limit of 2 batts per order or you can pay an additional handling fee and get more. I decided to just spend up on fabric.

Gypsy Bandana Fat Quarters

Pink, pink, pink

The picture shows the Michael Miller Gypsy Bandana Pink Fat Quarters that I bought. It’s eye-wateringly bright and I’m glad I had some pale green in my stash to offer momentary relief from the visual distress. Having said that, my little niece will love these colours. She’s a pink girl. I’m thinking of making her a random starts quilt, perhaps with a combination of 6 inch Friendship Stars and 12 inch Ohio Stars, inspired by the talented Bonnie Hunter.

Since taking the photo I took another look at the colours in these fat quarters and identified an unpattered bright red in my stash that will also work. I had had the idea to buy some plain bright pink cotton homespun, but Spotlight only had muddy pinks. I think the red will look terrific and I’m looking forward to seeing where these fabrics take me.

4 responses to “Gypsy Bandana Pink Fat Quarters

  1. Those will make an AWESOME wee lass quilt! :)

    • I think so too. I have the fabrics sitting out where I can see them so I can think about the design I want to make, eventually. I’m determined to finish some projects before I start this one and I’m making progress in that direction. I got the outer border on the garden trellis quilt yesterday so all that’s left on that one is to piece the backing. Next cab off the rank is the binding on the tumbling spools quilt. I’m hoping the coming week at work will be a little less frantic than the one just gone so maybe I can work on some projects in the evening, rather than sitting in front of the TV like a vegatable.

  2. Sometimes being a vegetable is good.

    I just finished the Hobo quilt! YEEHAW! Now I can move onto some bright happy fabrics. :)

Leave a Reply

