A Delivery from Hancock’s of Paducah

Large box enclosed in a mailing bag from the US

Delivery from Hancock's of Paducah

This week I had a delivery, easily the biggest ever to arrive on my doorstep.

It was my order from Hancock’s of Paducah, an online retailer in the U.S. and it got to me in less than four weeks, all the way from Kentucky. Well, that’s the nominal address, though I thought I saw Illinois somewhere on the mailing label, so who knows where they actually ship from.

The Hancock’s site could be better. For example it could show you a picture of the entire range of fabrics contained in a jelly roll, rather than just the roll itself and it could provide links to other fabrics in the same line as the one you’ve taken a closer look at, but it’s OK. As fabric sites go I’ve seen better and I’ve seen worse, but I’m not sure I’ve seen cheaper.

Postage to Australia was a reasonable US $15. I got two queen sizes batts for US $14 each, three sheets of 12 inch square template plastic for US $2.99 and three yards of Moda fabric on sale at US $4 per yard. The fabric buy was purely because it was cheap and pretty. I have no idea what I’m going to do with it. I’m sure I’ll think of something though.

Hancock’s communication was excellent and I got an email confirmation when my order shipped, along with a tracking number. Packaging was secure and they included a catalogue of their fabrics, just to get me thinking about my next order.

I am a happy customer.

2 responses to “A Delivery from Hancock’s of Paducah

  1. Hi there,

    I am only new to quilting, and am finding it difficult to find nice Moda fabric here in Canberra. I usually order my stuff (begrudgingly from the US) at Missouri Star Quilt Co. online. I have found them to be really helpful and just all around lovely, and their website and tutorials have been excellent. Thought you may want to know, after seeing your comment about expensive Moda fabric over here. :)

Leave a Reply

