Progress Report: Tumbling Spools Scrap Quilt

20 Tumbling Spools Blocks Stacked on each other

A Stack of Tumbling Spools Blocks

Yesterday was a warm spring day with temperatures higher than average for the time of year. In fact, it was pretty much beach weather.

In amongst reading the third book in Stieg Larsson’s millennium trilogy “The Girl who kicked the Hornet’s Nest,” I worked on my spools blocks and finally made it to twenty. Anyone who has, or is, reading the Millennium trilogy will appreciate that completing anything while reading these gripping thrillers is quite a triumph of will.

The plan is to put gold sashing between the blocks. I’ve bought that fabric and the border fabric already.

20 Tumbling Spools Blocks Laid out on the Floor

Layout before Sashing

I have a couple of concerns at this stage. One tumbling spools block had a really mis-matched centre pinwheel and seems very small compared to its neighbours. I think I’ll re-do it, especially seeing it’s the only block that is an exact repeat of another. I had tried to avoid making any two blocks identical, but I got carried away by enthusiasm and a desire for progress. I am also worried that the blocks with golden tones will not stand out against the sashing adequately.

The next tasks are to trim the blocks, cut the sashing and replace the duplicated block. I’m getting to the point now where I want to see this one out the door. It should be my last longarm quilter job for a while, as I feel the need to manage costs by doing my own quilting, for all but the biggest and most special quilts. I’m going to have to have to learn hand quilting. Not sure how much I’m looking forward to that.

I also decided yesterday to put the spiral block aside. While it’s impressive enough, and could be made into a medallion baby quilt, the centre has those visible hand stitches and I’m unhappy about that. It’s not a great colour palette for a baby quilt and I have a feeling I just wouldn’t be happy with it. The spiral block was a skill builder and I think I’ll leave it at that.

2 responses to “Progress Report: Tumbling Spools Scrap Quilt

  1. I love the tumbling spools! Scrap quilts always please my eye and the palette is lovely here!

Leave a Reply

