Finishes – Star Four Patch and Square in a Square

These ones have been a long time in the making and I’m pretty happy with both of them. They were machine quilted by Pam Hammer who did a nice job, I think.

Folded and Ready to Go

I sewed the binding on by machine for both quilts – for speed and to make them robust. And also because I don’t fancy hand sewing that much. The star quilt binding flew into place while binding the square in a square quilt gave me no end of trouble. I had to unpick seams many times, I think because the square in a square quilt is stiffer and a little thicker, due to its synthetic (and relatively inexpensive) batting. Using different batting in each quilt has taught me a lot and I will always go for the thin cotton batting when I can afford to do so.

pasterl square in a square bound and on display

Square in a Square Quilt also Finished

I had planned to give the star quilt as a gift to a friend who turned 40 recently, but I have a feeling she might prefer the square in a square lap quilt, which is more in her preferred colour palette. It’s not as nicely finished, nor as big (53 by 44 inches) but I still think she might prefer it.

3 responses to “Finishes – Star Four Patch and Square in a Square

  1. They both look great!!!

  2. They are both pretty, but I would always prefer a full size quilt as a gift!

    • Good point and I would prefer to receive a full size quilt too.

      Having said that, the square in a square quilt would make an excellent baby play blanket. And my friend is hoping for an addition to her family in the near future :-)

Leave a Reply

