Jelly Roll Quilt Along Blocks 9 and 10

I was struggling with motivation for a few weeks after I got back from my long vacation in the almost perpetual daylight of nordic summer. Sweden really is the land of the midnight sun and people there do their utmost to utlise that precious time when they can enjoy the warmth and light that summer brings, as the winters are long, cold and dark.

Back in Melbourne this winter seems long, cold and dark too, though at least I won’t be shovelling snow at any stage. We had a week or so of record low temperatures and grey days which made it hard to work at either cutting or piecing, or even to take photos for this blog. I prefer to work in natural light when I can.

I have finally managed to get back to work. As a start I asked my beloved to change the blade on my Olfa 45mm rotary cutter. He questioned whether it was really necessary, seeing I’d ‘only’ been cutting fabric and with a cutting mat, too. But I reported that the cutting had been getting more difficult all the time and that I was getting ragged cuts that left a few threads uncut. A fresh blade was a good move. After changing it, my cutting zipped along and I was ready to start piecing quite soon.

In case you’re wondering why I asked my beloved to change the blade, it’s not because I couldn’t manage it without him, it’s just that tools and blades and sharpening are more his thing.

Photo of Jelly Roll Quilt Along Block 9

Jelly Roll Quilt Along Block 9

Here is the result. I decided to try a creative approach that might still let me retain the block that had been troubling me, by not using my standard background fabric in block 9 and by using my last strip of pink paisley fabric within the diamond. Not sure if I’m making the design better or worse, but I’m still enjoying the journey.

Photo of Jelly Roll Quilt Along Block 10

Jelly Roll Quilt Along Block 10


There are still a few quilt along blocks to do, but I’ll catch up eventually. And I’ve decided where the sampler quilt will go when it’s done. There’s a special 40th birthday party coming up in January 2011 and the birthday girl is not into consumer products so will hopefully appreciate a handmade gift.

3 responses to “Jelly Roll Quilt Along Blocks 9 and 10

  1. I especially like the block 10. It looks so 3 dimensional. Very pretty!

    • Thanks for your comment. Block 10 is a stunner isn’t it?

      I’m less convinced of the beauty of block 9. When I showed block 9 to my beloved he said, “Is there any reason why it’s asymmetrical?” I think that was his way of gently saying he didn’t like it much. I’ve mever made a sampler quilt before which is why I’m going to press on and see how much the sashing unifies the design. I’m having a great time with this quilt along.

  2. Pingback: 12 Blocks Done: Jelly Roll Sampler Quilt Along | A Quilter's Journey

Leave a Reply

