Jelly Roll Quilt Along Block 6

The instructions for jelly roll quilt along block 6 were posted last week. I was relieved to find that I like this block, especially after seeing how others had interpreted the design in their blocks, posted on Flickr.

Jelly Roll Quilt Along Block 6

Jelly Roll Quilt Along Block 6

The other quilters gave me some ideas and this block design allowed me to make use of a couple of strips that I had cut too narrow to use on a previous block. I’m frustrated with myself that after six months of cutting and piecing I still make mistakes with something as straightforward as measuring and cutting a 2 1/2 inch strip accurately.

One of my previous pottery teachers Jane Sawyer taught me that there is no harm, and indeed great benefit, in ‘showing the hand of the maker’ in your work. I think that an inability to cut a 2 1/2 inch strip correctly is taking that concept a bit far, especially when the fabric is so mis-measured that it can’t be put to its intended use.

This block went well in the end and I’m pleased with how it looks. It was a little off square when I finished sewing so I pinned it out against the living room carpet before I went to bed last night. A small amount of gentle stretching overnight did the job to bring it back into shape.

Leave a Reply

