Sunflower Quilt Block

Here is another absolutely beautiful quilt block.

Sunflower Quilt Block in green tones

Sunflower Quilt Block - 12 inches finished

I discovered it on the Blue Mountain Quilters Guild Block of the Month page but I am not the only one who has found this magnificent resource. A link to this block was recently posted on the Quilting Board as part of a block of the month challenge there.

The fun thing about the sunflower quilt block is that it it looks really complicated but it’s not really that difficult, though having said that, I did have to unpick a couple of my half square triangles in order to get my main star pointing in a consistent direction.

This block will go into my variation on the Moose Quilts jelly roll quilt along sampler quilt to replace a couple of quilt along blocks in that challenge that don’t take my fancy.

I like this block so much that I recently bought some pink fabric to make a whole sunflower quilt. I’m envisioning the sunflowers as mostly pink on a red and white background but with a couple of blue and green points on the smaller triangles. I haven’t made a sample block for that yet, but in my head the design works. We’ll see.

I don’t like pink much for myself but I know several people who do and I’m thinking of making it as a gift for someone special, someone who doesn’t share my love of bold contrasty prints.

Leave a Reply

