Fun with Half Square Triangles – Part 2

I was flicking through a coffee table book about Sicily yesterday and saw a picture of some outdoor paving in blue and white.The paving had a wonderful optical illusion of diamonds that seemed to appear and disappear before your eyes. I looked more closely and realised – those are half square triangles. The next question was of course: How did they do that?

For me the only way of working that out was to make some half square triangles in paper and lay them out on the floor.

Paving Pattern Replicated in Paper Blocks

Paving Pattern Replicated in Paper Blocks


I made up a sheet of six ‘blocks’, printed them out, cut them apart and had a go. You can have a go, too, by printing out the attached files.

I am looking forward to playing with them to see how many patterns I can come up with. I’m sure many others have done this before me, but it’s new to me and it’s fun.

Half Square Triangle Design Templates

Half Square Triangle Design Templates with pale blue Blocks

Half Square Triangle Design Templates with pale blue Blocks

Leave a Reply

