A New Shopping Bag

OK, so I admit it’s not either pieced or quilted but it’s crafty and I’m happy with it, so here it is.

For the last few years I’ve often used a small cotton shopping bag to carry my lunch or for when I’m doing a quick trip by the grocery store to pick up a few essentials. The bag was one of those touristy souvenir items from Bangkok and is printed with images from local temples. It’s 100% cotton and it folds really, really small so it can go in a handbag and you really don’t know it’s there.

I’m trying to save the world, one plastic bag at a time, so when I can I ask the check-out operators to pack into my own bags. The Thai cotton number on the left has seen so much use that it has worn out and the handles are thready and nasty. This morning I finished the replacement, which is the rosy bag on the right. I think it’s made of a poly cotton blend but I can’t be sure as the fabric was a gift.

For anyone who wants to make something similar the bag is 13 inches by 13 inches and the handles are cut from across the width of the fabric which was 45 inches or 115 cm.

Shopping Bags

One response to “A New Shopping Bag

  1. Those are so lovely! They are great to keep in the car and have on hand to use instead of another plastic bag – so ECO-friendly! Plus – they are beautiful, and isn’t it nice to have beautiful things to use?

Leave a Reply

