Jelly Roll Sampler Quilt Along

I decided to join the fun and participate in the Jelly Roll Sampler Quilt Along. The completed blocks are available to view on Flickr and it’s great fun to see what everyone else has come up with. There are 300 members right now. That’s a lot of creative energy all directed at the same task.

Quilt Along Block 3

Quilt Along Block 3

Quilt Along Block 2

Quilt Along Block 2

I’m using scraps as my local Spotlight has exactly one variety of jelly roll, the fabric is wafer thin, I don’t like it much and it’s just under $30. That means more cutting, which is a pain, but there really wasn’t any alternative.

Quilt Along Block 1

Quilt Along Block 1

My blocks are consistently finishing at 12 inches, not the 12 1/2 they’re supposed to be. Seems my cutting is too fine and my seams aren’t scant enough.

I have decided to see the positive and say, “Well, at least I’m consistent,” and just keep going. I can make up the difference by cutting my sashing a little wider.

2 responses to “Jelly Roll Sampler Quilt Along

  1. Sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner. I’ve been on the road. I’m sorry this has been frustrating for you. Love your fabrics! How did block 2 come out? What it 12″ also? Did you check your seams? They don’t have to be scant, but if they were a touch bigger than 1/4″ that could end up making a 1/2″ difference over the whole block with that many seams. You can email me if you want me to help you trouble shoot it. BTW — with block 3 you can check it as you go because each squares should measure 6-1/2.” Thanks for playing along!

  2. Thanks for the feedback. I really appreciate you taking the time to reply, especially seeing you have so many enthusiastic quilters playing along. Block 2 is actually also 12 inches unfinished. I will definitely check my seams and keep an eye on those measurements as I complete Block 3.

Leave a Reply

