A Contrary Wife

Contrary Wife & Ohio Star Blocks

Contrary Wife & Ohio Star Blocks

I had a lovely evening yesterday experimenting with a couple of quilt blocks that are new to me, both described in 501 Rotary-Cut Quilt Blocks by Judy Hopkins.

The two I made are:

  • Contrary Wife
  • Ohio Star
  • I love the Ohio Star because stars somehow just make me happy. And Bonnie Hunter’s random ohio stars quilt is definitely there on my future projects list.

    The Contrary Wife, on the other hand, is so beautifully named. How can you not love a contrary wife? Having made one I can see that it could make some very interesting patterns in a quilt top if you made up a bunch of them in two or three colours and lined them up. It’s an idea for a future project but sadly isn’t one that I’ll be able to start any time soon.

    4 responses to “A Contrary Wife

      • Thanks for visiting and thanks for your comment. These blocks will be more pot holders but it would be great to use them in a quilt top. But first I have spools to make – 80 of them! Actually, as of today, 74 of them.

    1. licensed2tinker

      How can you not love a contrary wife? I would have thought very easily, just like contrary husbands, children, fathers & mothers.

    Leave a Reply

    