My Quilt Book Wish List

Cover Photos of 501 Quilt Blocks and Stash-Buster Quilts Books

Two of the books in my Quilting Library

I posted a question on Quilting Board recently and asked for people’s recommendations on what books I need to add to my quilting library. I was particularly interested in hearing which books people kept on coming back to.

When I posted my question I forgot to mention that I already have Stash Buster Quilts by Lynn Edwards. I have yet to review that here and I haven’t made anything from it yet but I don’t regret buying it. Something I like is that each pattern is shown made up in two different colourways so you can see, for example the difference between using a two colour palette and a full-on scrappy colour selection.

Quilters Complete Guide by Fons & Porter was a title that was recommended a lot and I can see why having recently borrowed it from the library.

Based on the recommendations and a little of my own research, I’m putting these books on my wish list.

  • The It’s Okay If You Sit On My Quilt Book – because many people seemed to really like it
  • Layer Cake, Jelly Roll & Charm Quilts – which I already kind of wanted
  • Guide To Machine Quilting by Gaudynski – to get over my fear of machine quilting large quilts
  • The Better Homes & Gardens Complete Guide to quilting was also highly recommended. Read my review of that book which I agree is excellent.

    2 responses to “My Quilt Book Wish List

    1. It’s Alright if You Sit on My Quilt is one of my favorites. I have to keep buying it, because I keep giving my copies to new quilters. :-)

      If you like applique, I also love the Elly Sienkeiwicz books.

      • That’s a generous and lovely thing to do, giving away one of your favorite books. That statement says a lot about you.

        Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. I love the look of applique but to me right now it looks really difficult. When I feel ready for that adventure I definitely look into what Elly Sienkeiwicz has to say.

    Leave a Reply

    