Batiks in the Stash

Two batik fabrics

The two batiks in my stash

I’ve been chatting with the owner of Kids, Caprines & Quilts who tells me she is on a fabric diet of batiks. So I thought I’d take a look at my stash and see what batik fabrics I have. I found these. I love bold colours and ethnic styles and find myself drawn to batik sarongs (you can never have too many, but cutting them up into patchwork seems WRONG.) I also love Indian woodblock prints.

When I was travelling last year I met a US expat who had moved from India to Cambodia with her husband’s work. She told me she had purchased a wooden printing block in India and that she was using it as a door handle. I would love to have one myself.

So here are all the batik fabrics I could find. The heart one I just don’t like any more but the bold one in the middle I just love. The latter is the offcuts from my friend Amelia who gave me her dressmaking stash a while back. Haven’t quite decided what to do with it yet though.

2 responses to “Batiks in the Stash

  1. licensed2tinker

    Your post brought back fond memories of Indonesia so I went looking and found this great batik info page. I used to have shirts just like these.
    http://java.eyelid.co.uk/batik.html

  2. Thank you so much for posting that link. It is fascinating. I’m sure we quilters are using prints that look like batiks, rather than genuine batiks.

Leave a Reply

