A Change of Scale: More Pot Holders

To those of you who are visiting from Quilting Board, thank you for your warm welcome to the discussion group this week. I have been greatly impressed by your skill and your generosity in sharing the lessons you have learned on your own quilter’s journey. I have learned so much from you and it hasn’t even been a week yet!

Four nine Inch potholders at the stage where the opening needs to be hand stitched together

Nine Inch Potholders on the Go


I’m having a change of scale today and trying to clear some space. It’s time to put in a fresh needle, change the thread colour and finish a few pot holders. The step I’m up to now is the part I like least as it involves hand sewing, and that’s not something I enjoy doing so much. It’s going to be a long time before hand quilting seems to me like a good way to spend my time, though I do appreciate the artistry and patience of those who do hand quilt.

In between some baking and other home-based tasks I’ll be finishing up these 9 inch potholders, which use remnants of woollen blanket fabric for batting. As some of you may have read in earlier posts, this is an experiment, with the intention of using the excellent thermal insulation properties of wool to make sure nobody gets a burn while using these potholders.

Leave a Reply

