Tumbling Spools Scrap Quilt

I have more bright ideas than I have time to execute them. This bright idea comes from Patchwork & Stitching vol 8 no 8. It’s a tumbling spools quilt block made into a finished quilt of 64in by 77in which is 163cm by 196cm for the metric-inclined.

pp14-15 Patchwork & Stitching Vol 8 No8

pp14-15 Patchwork & Stitching Vol 8 No8

Seems like a great project to use up those fabric squares that weren’t cut quite for the star blocks as the coloured half square triangles are cut at 2 5/8in squares. The spool centres are cut as 2 1/2 by 5 3/4in rectangles, which again should be fine for scraps.

I plan to follow the directions fairly faithfully except that they recommend flannel, which I don’t have. Instead I’ve found some gold quilting cotton for the sashing and some green for the border. I have those ready to launder and press, though I can’t imagine I’ll start any cutting any time soon.

What I might do though is cut some of the beige background fabric and have it ready so I can throw together a spool or two as I have discards from other cutting work.

Leave a Reply

