Picture of the Maple Leaf Quilt Block

Maple Leaf Quilt Block

Maple Leaf Quilt Block

Last night I finally managed to sew a maple leaf quilt block. In fact I managed to sew two. These will also be potholders and I might even keep them for myself. Not sure about that, it depends a bit on who needs a gift in the next little while.

I read up about the easy sandwich half square triangle approach on About.com:Quilting, a site that just keeps on giving in terms of patterns, blocks and methods and used that. The easy sandwich method works well for me because it keeps those stretchy bias seams from moving about too much.

The leaf fabric was a $4 a metre hard to love quilting cotton that was heavily reduced at Spotlight due, let’s be honest, to its ugliness. The shop assistant and I agreed that it was ugly but she also said it might turn out to be the best part of my quilt. I think she was kind of right. Cut up and with a green background, it turns from ugly into quite OK.

One response to “Picture of the Maple Leaf Quilt Block

  1. Thank you for your comment on my blog ~

    Now off to read yours. :)

    ps: I love Maple Leaves in quilts.

Leave a Reply

